There is a courtroom in every county in this state that a person can walk into without a lawyer, for sixty-five dollars plus whatever that county charges for its law library, and be heard by a judge on a claim worth as much as twenty thousand dollars. Last year it took in 61,393 cases. The legislature did not make it optional. Minn. Stat. § 491A.01, subd. 1: "The district court in each county shall establish a conciliation court division with the jurisdiction and powers set forth in this chapter." Not "may establish." Shall. One in every county in the state, by statutory command.
Most Minnesotans know it as small claims court and assume the limit is a few thousand dollars — enough for a security deposit, not enough for a real dispute. That was true a long time ago. It has not been true since 2014, and the number moved again two years ago.
The number, and the second number that only cuts one way
Subdivision 3a of § 491A.01 sets the ceiling, and it sets two of them. The court may hear, conciliate, try and determine civil claims where the money or property at issue does not exceed $20,000; or $4,000, if the claim involves a consumer credit transaction.
Read that second limit carefully, because the statute defines the term narrowly and the definition is where all the work happens. Subdivision 3a, paragraph (b):
"Consumer credit transaction" means a sale of personal property, or a loan arranged to facilitate the purchase of personal property, in which:
(1) credit is granted by a seller or a lender who regularly engages as a seller or lender in credit transactions of the same kind;
(2) the buyer is a natural person;
(3) the claimant is the seller or lender in the transaction; and
(4) the personal property is purchased primarily for a personal, family, or household purpose and not for a commercial, agricultural, or business purpose.
Four elements, and all four have to be present. The third one is the whole ballgame: the claimant is the seller or lender. The $4,000 ceiling is a limit on the finance company's claim against the buyer, not on the buyer's claim against the finance company. A consumer suing the seller or the lender does not satisfy clause (3), so the definition does not reach that claim and the general $20,000 ceiling is the one that applies. The lower number is a restraint on collection plaintiffs. Read quickly, it looks like a cap on what a consumer can recover. The text will not support that reading. I should be plain that this is a reading of the words on the page and nothing more: no Minnesota appellate decision I could find construes clause (3), and the one published opinion that cites both § 491A.01 and "consumer credit transaction" — Hanson v. Woolston, 701 N.W.2d 257 (Minn. Ct. App. 2005) — does not reach the question.
Then the history of the figures, which is its own argument. The general limit stood at $7,500 as recently as the spring of 2012. Laws 2012, ch. 283, § 1 raised it to $10,000 effective August 1, 2012, and wrote the old subdivision an expiration date of August 1, 2014. Section 2 of the same act created subdivision 3a at $15,000, effective August 1, 2014, applying to claims filed on or after that date. The 2015 Legislature touched subdivision 3a once (Laws 2015, ch. 27, § 1) and changed nothing but an internal cross-reference. Then Laws 2024, ch. 123, art. 15, § 6 struck $15,000 and inserted $20,000.
Across every one of those amendments, the $4,000 consumer-credit figure was carried forward untouched — it reads the same in the 2012 act's strike-and-insert markup as it does in the statute today. So does the $2,500 threshold in paragraph (c), the line above which the plaintiff has to serve the summons by certified mail instead of the administrator mailing it first class. Two figures in that subdivision have not moved in at least sixteen years. One of them moved twice. A dollar limit that only changes when somebody in St. Paul thinks to change it shrinks quietly in every year that nobody does.
Eleven doors that are closed
Subdivision 4 removes eleven categories from this court's reach, and the list is more consequential than the ceiling, because several of the eleven describe fights ordinary people actually have — the boundary line, the eviction, the family-court debt, the botched surgery. Conciliation court has no jurisdiction over actions involving title to real estate, including boundary-line actions; claims of defamation by libel or slander; specific performance, except as subdivision 5 allows; matters brought or defended on behalf of a class; anything requesting or involving prejudgment remedies; injunctive relief, again except as subdivision 5 allows; actions under chapters 256, 257, 259, 260, 518, 518A, 518B and 518C — the public-assistance and family chapters — except for actions involving debts owed to state agencies or political subdivisions arising under them; actions under chapters 524 and 525, which are probate; anything where jurisdiction is vested exclusively in another court or division; eviction; and medical malpractice.
Eviction being on that list is worth sitting with. Subdivision 9 gives conciliation court jurisdiction over "an action for damages arising from the landlord and tenant relationship under chapter 504B or under the rental agreement" in the county where the property sits — damages in either direction, tenant or landlord. But possession is carved out. The money fight can be informal and cheap; the fight over whether a family stays in the apartment goes to housing court.
And several of the chapter's venue conveniences run in one direction only. Subdivision 6 lets an educational institution sue a student-loan borrower in the county where the loan was awarded even though the borrower lives somewhere else. Subdivision 10 does the same for the holder of a dishonored check. Subdivision 11, added in 2015, does it for a county recovering debts owed to it for "fees, services, overpayments, or similar obligations". Each carries a prior-notice condition, and each is a venue accommodation that an individual plaintiff has no counterpart to. Outside those subdivisions the summons reaches only within the county where the court sits, per subdivision 3a, paragraph (c) — so an individual with a claim against an out-of-county defendant files in the defendant's county and drives there.
What it costs, and what it costs if you cannot pay it
Section 357.022 sets the base, and sets it flatly: the court administrator in every county "shall charge and collect a filing fee of $65 from every plaintiff and from every defendant when the first paper for that party is filed in any conciliation court action." The section exempts actions filed by the state. Read the rest of that sentence too — the defendant pays the same $65 on the first paper the defendant files.
The $65 is not the bill. Section 491A.02, subd. 3 directs the administrator to collect "applicable law library fees established pursuant to law", and two sections of chapter 134A reach conciliation court by name, between them covering every county in the state. Section 134A.09, subd. 1 does Hennepin and Ramsey. Section 134A.10, subd. 1 does the rest: "In counties other than Hennepin and Ramsey, the court administrator shall collect in each civil suit, action or proceeding filed in the district, county or county municipal and conciliation courts of the county, in the manner in which other fees are collected, a law library fee" — from the plaintiff, and again from each defendant who appears. The Judicial Branch says the same thing on its own fee page: "For any court fee that references Minn. Stat. § 134A.09 or Minn. Stat. § 134A.10, there is an additional 'Law Library' fee imposed, which varies by county. This amount is NOT included in the base fee amounts."
Neither statute names an amount. Each county's law library board of trustees sets it with the county board's approval and publishes it in the State Register, and in the eighty-five counties outside Hennepin and Ramsey, § 134A.10, subd. 4 adds that the fee "shall be set on July 1 each year and remain in effect until changed." I did not retrieve the State Register notices. I did retrieve the Judicial Branch's own county fee pages, which publish the total — twelve of the eighty-seven, read from Internet Archive captures taken between September 2025 and August 2026, because the live host refuses automated requests. Four of the twelve — Anoka, Ramsey, Swift and Wadena — post $80.00 for a conciliation first paper, computed on the page itself as "Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $15". Six — Chisago, Clearwater, Le Sueur, Marshall, Pine and Rock — post $75.00, at $65 plus $10. Two, Grant and Wabasha, post $65.00 with no law library line at all. The Minnesota State Law Library's own research guide draws the range the same way: "Fees differ by county. The filing fee for conciliation court will be between $65 and $80." Twelve counties is not eighty-seven and an archived capture is not today's page, so take it as a range and not a figure: call it seventy-five dollars and check your county before you write the check.
If a party cannot pay, the fee does not stop the case. Conciliation Court Rule 506 lets any party who is a natural person file an affidavit claiming inability to pay, and then "no fees are required." The eligibility standard sits in § 563.01, subd. 3: an affidavit stating the nature of the action, a belief the affiant is entitled to redress, and financial inability to pay, and — on a finding that the claim is not frivolous — the court shall allow it. Subdivision 3(b) presumes eligibility for a person receiving the public assistance described in § 550.37, subd. 14, a person represented by a civil legal services or volunteer attorney program on indigency, or a person whose annual income is no greater than 125 percent of the federal poverty line under 42 U.S.C. § 9902(2). A party who does not qualify but still cannot pay everything may be ordered to pay $75 or a partial amount.
There is a catch, and it is in both the statute and the rule: if the affiant wins, the waived fees come out of the recovery and go to the administrator. The waiver is a deferral for a winner and a forgiveness for a loser.
A court designed to be used without a lawyer — and a lawyer may still come
Section 491A.02, subd. 1 opens with the sentence that does most of the work: "The determination of claims in conciliation court must be without jury trial and by a simple and informal procedure." The same subdivision adds that "Conciliation court proceedings must not be reported." It requires the supreme court to promulgate uniform claim and counterclaim forms, and it requires the claim and summons to carry a conspicuous notice, in at least 10-point bold type, about the consequences of a failure to appear.
Subdivision 2 goes further than any other Minnesota forum I know of. The court administrator "shall explain to litigants the procedure and functions of the conciliation court" and "shall on request assist them in filling out all forms and pleading necessary for the presentation of their claims or counterclaims to the court." The administrator also has to help a judgment creditor or debtor prepare the forms needed to satisfy a final judgment. And then the sentence that makes it possible: "The performance of duties prescribed in this subdivision do not constitute the practice of law for purposes of section 481.02, subdivision 8." The legislature had to immunize the clerk from the unauthorized-practice statute in order to let the clerk help you. It did.
Can a lawyer appear? Yes, at the judge's sufferance. Rule 512(d): "The parties may be represented by a lawyer admitted to practice law before the courts of this state. A lawyer representing a party in conciliation court may participate in the trial to the extent and in the manner that the judge, in the judge's discretion, deems helpful." That is an unusual grant of control to the bench, and the right one for a forum whose premise is that the parties can speak for themselves.
A company does not need a lawyer either. Section 491A.02, subd. 4 and Rule 512(d) let a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, sole proprietorship or association appear through an officer, manager or partner; through an agent in the case of a condominium, cooperative or townhouse association; or through an appointed employee or a commercial property manager, who must hold a real estate license and be authorized to settle. Written proof of authority has to be filed with the claim or presented at the hearing, and a commercial property manager may not charge a separate fee for the appearance. The same subdivision carries that non-lawyer appearance into district court for a corporation or LLC with five or fewer shareholders or members, and for any condominium, cooperative or townhouse association, when the case was removed from conciliation court.
On evidence, Rule 512(e) is candid about what informal means: "The judge will normally receive only evidence admissible under the rules of evidence, but in the exercise of discretion and in the interests of justice, may receive otherwise inadmissible evidence." Rule 512(f) lets the judge try to conciliate and settle the thing on the spot, and requires no written findings of fact or conclusions of law.
The supreme court rewrote these rules across the board effective July 1, 2026, and three of the changes are worth naming. The minimum time between service of the summons and trial went from 14 days to 28 (Rule 508(a)). Digital exhibits now go through the Minnesota Digital Exhibit System and must be shared with the other side no later than three days before trial, or the judge may refuse to consider them (Rule 512(b)). And the requirement of an in-person appearance was eliminated.
The summons itself now has to tell the defendant where to look for a lawyer. Rule 508(b)(5)(ii) requires this language on the face of it: "You have the right to seek legal help. If you cannot afford a lawyer, free legal help may be available. You can visit www.LawHelpMN.org to know your rights and find contact information for your Legal Aid office."
The 2026 change aimed squarely at default judgments
Rule 508(d)(5) is new, and it is the most interesting thing the supreme court did this year in this corner of the law. Where a claim involves a consumer credit transaction as defined by § 491A.01, subd. 3a, and the plaintiff and defendant have previously communicated by electronic message — email, text, instant message, chat or voicemail — the plaintiff must also inform the defendant of the date, time and place of the hearing by that same channel. The plaintiff has to file an affidavit before the hearing saying whether such communications occurred and, if so, how notice was given. Failure to file it may result in the court denying a request for default judgment.
Consider what that rule is aimed at. A creditor that has been reaching a customer by text for two years, and then serves the lawsuit by first-class mail to an address that may be three moves stale, and takes a default judgment when nobody appears. The rule says: if you had a working channel, use it. That is a modest, precise, well-targeted reform, and it reads like it was written by people who had looked at what was actually happening in the room.
If you lose, the door out is expensive
There is no appeal from conciliation court to the Court of Appeals. Section 491A.02, subd. 6 requires the rules to provide a right of appeal "by removal to the district court for a trial de novo" — a completely new trial — and Rule 521 sets out how. Any person aggrieved by an order for judgment entered after a contested trial may remove, creditor or debtor. Within 21 days of the date the administrator transmitted notice of the judgment order, the aggrieved party must serve a demand for removal by first-class mail on every opposing lawyer or self-represented party; file the original demand with proof of service; file an affidavit that the removal is in good faith and not for delay; and pay the fee. If the aggrieved party is a corporation, the demand for removal has to be signed by the party's attorney.
The fee is the part that decides who actually appeals. Rule 521(b)(4) sets it at "the amount prescribed by law for filing a civil action in district court," which § 357.021, subd. 2(1) puts at $310, plus $100 more if a jury is demanded — and the county law library fee rides on that one too. Anoka's fee page posts $325.00 for a removal and $425.00 with a jury; Grant's, which charges no law library fee, posts $310.00 and $410.00. A case that cost seventy-five dollars to bring costs better than four times that to appeal — and the opposing party who gets dragged along owes the same amount again when they file their first paper in district court. A § 563.01 fee waiver is available for both.
Then the counterweight, which is the honest part of this story. Section 491A.02, subd. 7(b): "If the removing party does not prevail, the court shall order an additional $50 to be paid to the opposing party as costs." The notice of order for judgment has to warn about it (subd. 6), and the $50 may be waived for a party eligible under § 563.01 if the court finds hardship and good faith. "Prevail" is defined mechanically, four ways. Three of them turn on the same threshold — the removing party has to move the outcome by at least $500 or 50 percent, whichever is less: recover that much having been denied any recovery below, beat their own conciliation award by that margin, or cut the other side's award by it. The fourth carries no threshold at all: an opposing party who recovered something in conciliation court recovers nothing in district court. Costs and disbursements in either court are excluded from the comparison.
So the exposure for guessing wrong on removal is $50 in statutory costs plus, if the other side prevails and asks, district court costs as though the action had started there. The $50 is a token. The $310 is the deterrent, and it deters the party with less money — which, in a forum built for people who cannot afford a lawyer, means the appeal right is real on paper and rationed by wallet. Only after the district court rules do § 491A.02, subd. 8 and Rule 525 open the Court of Appeals.
The concession: a judgment is not money
This forum will give you a judgment. It will not give you a dollar, and it is structurally incapable of collecting one for you. Section 491A.01, subd. 2 says so in one flat sentence: "No writ of execution or garnishment summons may be issued out of conciliation court." Rule 518(a) repeats it. The court that heard you cannot make anyone pay you.
What follows is a second project. Under Rule 515 the judgment becomes final and effective 21 days after notice is transmitted, unless it is paid, removed, vacated, or the judge orders otherwise. Then, under Rule 518(a), the winner obtains a transcript of the judgment from the administrator, pays the statutory fee — § 357.021, subd. 2(6): $40 for issuing a transcript of judgment or for filing and docketing one from another court — files it in district court, and presents an affidavit of identification to have it docketed. At that point, and only at that point, it is enforceable as a district court judgment. If it still is not paid, Rule 518(b) and § 491A.02, subd. 9 let the creditor get an order requiring the debtor to mail a disclosure of assets, liabilities and earnings on the state court administrator's form within ten days, with a warning that failing to do it may bring a citation for civil contempt. Issuing an execution is another $55 under § 357.021, subd. 2(5).
And then the exemptions decide the case all over again. Section 550.37, subd. 1 makes the property it lists "not liable to attachment, garnishment, or sale on any final process, issued from any court." Subdivision 13 exempts all earnings not subject to garnishment under § 571.922. A judgment against someone whose property and wages sit inside those lines is a piece of paper with a number on it. I have written about what they cannot take from you and about the debt that follows you for a decade; the same machinery that protects a family from a collector protects a defendant from you. The defendant who ignored the demand letter is frequently the same defendant who ignores the judgment, and nothing in chapter 491A changes that. Anyone who tells a person that winning in conciliation court means getting paid is selling something.
There is exactly one place the chapter solves this, and it is not about money. Subdivision 5 gives the court jurisdiction over the ownership and possession of personal property and the power to order a party to hand it over. And then: "Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, once the judgment of the court directing return of the property becomes final, it is enforceable by the sheriff of the county in which the property is located without further legal process." The sheriff may enter the premises, demand the property, and if necessary cause the building to be broken open, calling on the power of the county. A judgment for your property is self-executing. A judgment for your money is a filing project.
61,393
I set out to answer a simple question: how many Minnesotans use this court? The Judicial Branch answers it, in a dashboard it builds and publishes itself.
"District Court Case Data — Trends in Cases Filed, 2021 to 2025" is a Minnesota Judicial Branch product, embedded on the court-statistics section of mncourts.gov and hosted on Tableau Public under the branch's own account. Its own note says it is updated once a year and was last updated February 3, 2026, and that it "contains summary counts of cases filed by groups and categories of cases. Cases are counted at the point when they are filed in district court." It carries a sheet the branch labels the "Unfiltered Table of Dashboard Data", six columns wide: District, County, Group, Category, Filed Year, Filings. Conciliation is one of the categories, inside the Minor Civil case group. I pulled the table — 22,141 rows — and added it up.
Conciliation cases filed in Minnesota district courts:
| Year | Filings |
|---|---|
| 2021 | 37,604 |
| 2022 | 35,150 |
| 2023 | 40,933 |
| 2024 | 59,023 |
| 2025 | 61,393 |
234,103 cases in five years, and up 63 percent from the first year to the last. Against a July 2025 population estimate of 5,830,405, the 2025 figure works out to 10.5 conciliation filings per 1,000 Minnesotans — one filing for every 95 people in the state, in a single year, in the court most people picture as the place you go about a security deposit.
The county rates are where it stops being a story about population. Per 1,000 residents in 2025, Mille Lacs County ran 18.3, Norman 16.9, Itasca 15.4, Pipestone 15.2. At the other end, Houston County ran 4.8, Lac qui Parle 5.7, Cook and Carver 6.0 apiece. That is a 3.8-fold spread between Minnesota counties in how often a claim is filed in the county's conciliation court, per resident. Hennepin, with the largest raw count in the state at 13,567, sits at 10.6 — almost exactly the statewide rate. Volume tracks population. Rate does not, and nothing in chapter 491A explains why a resident of Mille Lacs County is nearly four times as likely to be sued in this court as a resident of Houston County.
Then the jump. Filings rose 44 percent between 2023 and 2024 — 18,090 more cases in one year, in 77 of the 87 counties. The jurisdictional limit went from $15,000 to $20,000 in that same year. I am not going to tell you the first caused the second, and here is the honest reason I cannot: Laws 2024, ch. 123, art. 15, § 6 carries no effective-date clause of its own, so the new ceiling arrived partway through the calendar year, and the dashboard reports filings by year. The theory gets worse when you look sideways. Minor Civil Judgments went from 44,477 in 2023 to 55,506 in 2024 to 72,149 in 2025. Consumer credit filings in major civil rose 50 percent in 2025 alone. Collection activity is rising across every category that touches it, and a bigger conciliation ceiling is one candidate explanation among several that annual counts cannot separate.
The four numbers that are not there
Filings are the easy number: a court produces one every time it opens a file. The numbers that would tell you whether this court works are about what happens after the file is open, and four of them the Judicial Branch does not publish. I went through the branch's court-statistics section page by page, through the filings dashboard and the performance-measures dashboard down to their underlying data tables. If any of these four sits in a state publication, it is not in those places, and I did not search the paid bulk extract, which is a different thing and is discussed below.
The default rate — what share of conciliation cases end because the defendant never appeared. In a forum whose newest rule was aimed squarely at default judgments, that is the single most important number about it.
The self-represented rate. The entire premise of chapter 491A is that a person can do this without a lawyer. Nobody publishes how often that is what happens, or how often a self-represented party is across the table from counsel.
The fee-waiver rate. Rule 506 and § 563.01 make the filing fee waivable on an affidavit. How many people file that affidavit is a direct measurement of how much the price is keeping people out.
The share of judgments ever docketed in district court. Under Rule 518(a) a conciliation judgment does nothing at all until somebody pays $40, files the transcript, and gets it docketed. The gap between judgments entered and judgments docketed is the gap between winning and collecting.
What is published deserves to be stated precisely, because the branch does more here than it gets credit for. It runs a second dashboard, Performance Measures, whose data were last updated February 2, 2026, and that one carries a disposition measure: a clearance rate by county and by year, which it defines as "the number of outgoing cases (cases disposed) as a percentage of the number of incoming cases (cases filed) over a given time period." Conciliation is inside that measure — but only inside the Minor Civil case group, bundled with evictions, implied consent proceedings, and minor civil judgments. In 2025 the median county's Minor Civil clearance rate was 100 percent, with 43 of 87 counties under 100; in 2024 the median was 96 percent and 67 counties came in under. That is a real number about a bundle that contains this court. It is not a number about this court.
The same dashboard sets timing objectives — how quickly a court is expected to dispose of a case — and names the groups it sets them for: Dissolutions, Domestic Abuse, Juvenile Delinquency, Major Civil, Major Criminal, Minor Criminal. Minor Civil is not among them. In 2025 Minor Civil was the largest civil case group in Minnesota at 163,357 filings — more than major civil, family and probate combined — and the Judicial Branch publishes no standard for how long a case in it should take.
There is also a conciliation bulk extract, and it is not free. The branch's bulk data page says the State Court Administrator's Office "offers a limited menu of bulk data extracts that are available via paid subscription", lists the seven — "Criminal with Traffic, Criminal without Traffic, Judgments, Evictions, Eviction Filings, Probate, and Conciliation" — and states that "There are one-time signup and monthly subscription fees for each extract." A signed data use agreement is required, with proof that the signer can bind the organization. Media organizations and educational institutions are exempt from the fee, which is the fair part and worth saying out loud. A Minnesotan who wants to know how her own county's conciliation court is running is not exempt. The fee schedule itself is a PDF on a host that returns 403 to an automated request and is not in the Internet Archive, so I am not going to quote you a price I did not read.
That host is the last piece, and it is a smaller problem than I first took it for. Every mncourts.gov path I tried returned HTTP 403 Forbidden to a scripted request — the site root, the court-statistics page that embeds the filings dashboard, the bulk data page, and the court fees page — while revisor.mn.gov, the branch's own library-guides host, and Tableau Public all answered normally in the same session with the same user agent. A 403 to a script is a bot policy on one web server. It is not the state withholding anything — the page that will not answer is a pointer to a dashboard sitting fully public on a different host, with no key, no login and no agreement. But it is why every county fee figure above came out of an archived capture instead of the state's live page, and a court system that publishes data this good should not make the last mile depend on a person clicking.
What we can do
Publish the four outcome numbers, and stop charging for the conciliation extract. The filings are already there — by county, by year, in a downloadable table, updated annually, and the Judicial Branch should get credit for it rather than a demand for something it already does. What is missing is everything after the filing: the default rate, the self-represented rate, the fee-waiver rate, and the share of conciliation judgments later docketed in district court. Every one of them is a byproduct of work the branch already performs. Rule 515 has the administrator enter each judgment. Rule 518(a) has the administrator issue each transcript. Rule 506 has the administrator take each affidavit of inability to pay. Add a conciliation-specific sheet to the dashboard that exists, set a time-to-disposition objective for Minor Civil the way the branch has set one for six other case groups, and drop the subscription on the conciliation extract. A monthly fee is a strange gate to put in front of data about the one forum this state built for people who cannot pay for help.
Fix the dead cross-reference in § 491A.01, subd. 5. The property-jurisdiction subdivision reaches personal property "the value of which does not exceed the jurisdictional limit under subdivision 3". Subdivision 3 expired August 1, 2014, by the terms of Laws 2012, ch. 283, § 1; the limits have lived in subdivision 3a ever since. The sensible reading is obvious and every judge will reach it, which is exactly why this should be a one-line revisor's bill rather than a trap left in the statute for a self-represented litigant reading it cold.
Put the two dollar limits on a schedule. The general ceiling went from $7,500 to $20,000 over twelve years, in three steps enacted by two legislatures. The consumer-credit ceiling and the $2,500 certified-mail threshold have not moved in at least sixteen years. Either index them or require the Legislature to review them on a fixed cycle. A jurisdictional limit that erodes by inflation is a quiet reduction in access to court that nobody ever votes for.
Extend the electronic-notice rule past consumer credit cases. Rule 508(d)(5) already requires a plaintiff who has been texting or emailing a consumer-credit defendant to send hearing notice through that same channel, with an affidavit and the loss of default judgment as the sanction. There is no principled reason the obligation should stop at consumer credit. The supreme court's advisory committee should take the rule to every conciliation court case where the parties have an established electronic channel. This is a rules change, not a bill.
Stop charging the winner to collect. Rule 516 requires the order for judgment to include the filing fees the prevailing party paid — "will include", not "may" — and leaves disbursements to the court's discretion. But the fees that come after judgment are on neither list: $40 to transcribe and docket, $55 to issue an execution. A person who had to sue in order to be paid, and won, should not then pay $95 for the privilege of trying to collect. Make post-judgment fees taxable against the non-paying party as a matter of course, and waive them outright for a party eligible under § 563.01.
Minnesota did something genuinely unusual here. It built a courtroom with the professional barriers taken out on purpose — no jury to persuade, no transcript to order, relaxed evidence, a clerk who is statutorily permitted to help you write your own pleading, and a lawyer only if you want one. That is not a small-claims window. That is a functioning civil court, and for sixty-five dollars and your county's law library fee it is the best deal in Minnesota law. The 61,393 cases filed last year say Minnesotans have worked that out for themselves.
Then it left the one hard part — getting paid — outside the room, and it counts the cases going in far more carefully than the people coming out.
First the facts. Then the fix.
Sources
Minn. Stat. ch. 491A, retrieved as raw text from revisor.mn.gov (2025 Minnesota Statutes, full chapter text) on 2026-09-11. § 491A.01, subd. 1 (each county's district court shall establish a conciliation court division); subd. 2 (all powers and process; no writ of execution or garnishment summons may issue); subd. 3 ([Expired, 2012 c 283 s 1]); subd. 3a(a) (limits of $20,000, and $4,000 for a consumer credit transaction); subd. 3a(b) (the four-element definition of "consumer credit transaction", quoted in full); subd. 3a(c) (territorial jurisdiction coextensive with the county; administrator serves by first class mail; plaintiff serves by certified mail where the claim exceeds $2,500); subd. 4 (the eleven excluded categories, enumerated in full); subd. 5 (personal property ownership and possession; sheriff enforcement without further legal process); subds. 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 (student loans, foreign defendants, multiple defendants, rental property under ch. 504B, dishonored checks, county claims against nonresidents). § 491A.02, subd. 1 (no jury; simple and informal procedure; proceedings not reported; uniform forms; 10-point bold notice); subd. 2 (administrator explains procedure and assists with forms; not the practice of law for purposes of § 481.02, subd. 8); subd. 3 (fee under § 357.022 plus applicable law library fees; commencement without payment on a claim of inability to pay, repaid out of any recovery); subd. 4 (entity representation; commercial property manager; carryover to district court for entities with five or fewer shareholders or members on removal); subd. 5 (installment satisfaction, last installment within one year); subd. 6 (right of appeal by removal for trial de novo; notice must state the additional $50); subd. 7 (costs in district court; the $50; the four-part "prevails" test at $500 or 50 percent, whichever is less; § 563.01 hardship waiver); subd. 8 (appeal to the Court of Appeals from the district court on removal); subd. 9 (judgment debtor disclosure; ten days; civil contempt). § 491A.03 (judges, referees, administrator, court reporter, quarters).
Amendment history of the dollar limits, from the Revisor's session-law text with strike-and-insert markup: Laws 2012, ch. 283 — § 1 raised the general limit from $7,500 to $10,000 effective August 1, 2012 and added "This subdivision expires August 1, 2014"; § 2 created subd. 3a at $15,000 and $4,000, effective August 1, 2014, applying to claims filed on or after that date. Laws 2015, ch. 27, § 1 amended subd. 3a only to change an internal cross-reference from "5 to 10" to "5 to 11"; § 2 added subd. 11. Laws 2024, ch. 123, art. 15, § 6 struck $15,000 and inserted $20,000; § 6 carries no effective-date clause of its own. The $4,000 and $2,500 figures appear unchanged in the 2012 markup of the 2010 statutes and in the current text.
2026 amendment check. The Revisor's banner on chapter 491A flags one 2026 change: § 491A.03, subd. 4, amended by 2026 ch. 88, art. 1, § 209. I read it — it strikes the cross-reference "pursuant to section 485.018, subdivision 6" from the quarters-and-supplies subdivision and changes nothing relevant here. Sections 491A.01 and 491A.02 are not listed as affected. The banner on § 357.021 flags subd. 1a, amended by 2026 ch. 88, art. 1, § 194; I read that too, and its only change is a cross-reference from § 609.5317 to § 609.5316. The fee amounts in § 357.021, subd. 2 were not amended. Section 357.022 carries no 2026 banner.
Minnesota General Rules of Practice for the District Courts, Title VI (Conciliation Court Rules), retrieved from revisor.mn.gov/court_rules/gp on 2026-09-11. Rule 501 (Rules 1–16 of the General Rules apply unless inconsistent); Rule 505 (commencement on filing plus fees or a Rule 506 affidavit); Rule 506 (fees; affidavit in lieu of fees; repayment out of a recovery); Rule 507 (statement of claim; administrator must assist on request; signature under penalty of perjury per § 358.116); Rule 508(a) (trial date not less than 28 days), 508(b)(5) (required summons language, including the LawHelpMN legal-help statement, quoted in full), 508(d)(1)–(3) (mail service, certified mail above $2,500, 60-day proof-of-service deadline and dismissal without prejudice), 508(d)(5) (new electronic-message notice requirement in consumer credit transaction cases, affidavit, and denial of default judgment); Rule 512(a) (subpoenas; attorney may issue), 512(b) (MNDES; exhibits shared three days before trial), 512(d) (a lawyer may represent a party and participate to the extent the judge deems helpful; entity representation, quoted), 512(e) (evidence, quoted), 512(f) (conciliation; no written findings required), 512(g)–(h) (failure to appear), 512(i) (continuances; costs to $50); Rule 515 (entry of judgment; final and effective 21 days after notice); Rule 516 (costs and disbursements; fees under Rules 506 and 508(d)(3)); Rule 517 (payment direct to the prevailing party); Rule 518(a)–(b) (transcript, docketing, affidavit of identification, no execution or garnishment out of conciliation court, judgment debtor disclosure); Rule 520 (vacation within 21 days and after; costs to $50); Rule 521(a)–(e) (removal; trial de novo; 21 days; four required steps; corporate demand signed by counsel; fee equal to the district court civil filing fee plus jury fee; removal perfected and the conciliation order vacated); Rule 524 (mandatory $50 costs; the "prevails" definitions); Rule 525 (appeal from district court). The advisory committee comments record that Rules 502, 505, 506, 507, 508, 512, 513, 515, 516, 517, 518, 520, 521, 524 and 525 were amended effective July 1, 2026 as a comprehensive plain-language revision, that Rule 508(a) moved the minimum trial date from 14 to 28 days, that Rule 508(d)(5) is new, and that the in-person appearance requirement was eliminated.
Fees. Minn. Stat. § 357.022 ($65 filing fee from every plaintiff and every defendant in any conciliation court action; not applicable to actions filed by the state; last amended 2009), retrieved raw from revisor.mn.gov on 2026-09-19. Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 2 (district court fees: clause (1), $310 first paper in a civil action, $340 in dissolution, $100 for a jury demand; clause (4), $100 motion fee; clause (5), $55 to issue an execution; clause (6), $40 for issuing or docketing a transcript of judgment).
Law library fees. Minn. Stat. § 134A.09, subd. 1 (Hennepin and Ramsey; law library fee collected in each civil suit, action or proceeding filed in the district, municipal and conciliation courts of the district, from the plaintiff and from each defendant who appears); subd. 3 (amount set by the law library board of trustees with county board approval and published in the State Register). Minn. Stat. § 134A.10, subd. 1 (all other counties; same fee, same collection points, quoted in the body); subd. 4 (amount set by the trustees with county board approval, "shall be set on July 1 each year and remain in effect until changed", published in the State Register). Both retrieved raw from revisor.mn.gov on 2026-09-19. Neither section states an amount. Minnesota Judicial Branch, Court Fees, quoted for the sentence that a law library fee attaches to any fee referencing § 134A.09 or § 134A.10, varies by county, and is not included in the base amounts — read from the Internet Archive capture of mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Court-Fees.aspx dated 2025-06-24, because the live host returns 403. Minnesota Judicial Branch, District Court Fees, per-county pages at mncourts.gov/_/court-fees/county/<County>, read from Internet Archive captures on 2026-09-19; each capture carries its county selected in the page's own dropdown. Conciliation, "Plaintiff / Petitioner and Defendant / Respondent - First Paper Filed": Anoka $80.00 (capture 2026-01-19), Ramsey $80.00 (2026-08-10), Swift $80.00 (2025-12-24), Wadena $80.00 (2025-12-22), each shown as Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $15; Chisago $75.00 (2026-01-09), Clearwater $75.00 (2026-01-15), Le Sueur $75.00 (2025-09-11), Marshall $75.00 (2026-06-10), Pine $75.00 (2026-04-24), Rock $75.00 (2026-01-09), each Base Fee $65 + Law Library Fee $10; Grant $65.00 (2026-01-22) and Wabasha $65.00 (2026-01-24), Base Fee $65 with no law library line. Removal figures from the same pages: Anoka $325.00 and $425.00 with a jury; Grant $310.00 and $410.00. Twelve of eighty-seven counties — those are every county fee page that replays from the Internet Archive; a thirteenth, Clay, is in the archive's index but returns 404 on retrieval, and the other seventy-four were not retrieved. Minnesota State Law Library, Conciliation Court: Getting Started research guide, mncourts.libguides.com/conciliation, retrieved live on 2026-09-19, for "Fees differ by county. The filing fee for conciliation court will be between $65 and $80."
Fee waiver. Minn. Stat. § 563.01, subd. 3 (affidavit contents; the court shall allow a non-frivolous claim to proceed; presumptive eligibility for recipients of assistance described in § 550.37, subd. 14, for persons represented by civil legal services or a volunteer attorney program on indigency, and for annual income not greater than 125 percent of the poverty line under 42 U.S.C. § 9902(2); $75 or partial payment where a party is ineligible but unable to pay in full); subds. 4, 7a, 8a, 9, 10 (administrator and sheriff serve without charge; free copy of the file; reimbursement, rescission, and judgment for deferred costs out of any recovery).
Related. Minn. Stat. § 481.02, subds. 1 and 2 (unauthorized practice of law; a natural person may appear personally as a party but not in a representative capacity), subd. 8 (penalty and injunction — the subdivision § 491A.02, subds. 2 and 4 disclaim). Minn. Stat. § 645.02 (acts without a specified effective date take effect August 1 following final enactment).
Case law. Hanson v. Woolston, 701 N.W.2d 257, 264–65 (Minn. Ct. App. 2005), read in full from the Caselaw Access Project archive (static.case.law/nw2d/701/cases/0257-01.json), for the proposition that the dollar limits in § 491A.01 go to subject-matter jurisdiction while the county limit goes to territorial and personal jurisdiction — and, negatively, because it is the only published Minnesota opinion in CourtListener's index citing both § 491A.01 and "consumer credit transaction," and it does not construe subd. 3a(b)(3). CourtListener searches run 2026-09-11: "consumer credit transaction" "claimant is the seller or lender" returned 0; "491A.01" "consumer credit transaction" returned 1 (Hanson). Controls on the same index, same session: "491A.01" in Minn./Minn. Ct. App. returned 7; "conciliation court" in Minn./Minn. Ct. App. returned 181. CourtListener holds no Minnesota district court, so trial-level construction would not appear in any of these counts.
Filing counts. Minnesota Judicial Branch, "District Court Case Data — Trends in Cases Filed, 2021 to 2025" — a dashboard authored and maintained by the Minnesota Judicial Branch (Tableau Public profile minnesota.judicial.branch, linked site https://mncourts.gov/), embedded on mncourts.gov/help-topics/court-statistics/publications-and-reports/district-court-filings. Workbook metadata and the dashboard's own "About the Data" and "Frequency of Updates" text retrieved 2026-09-19; last updated 2026-02-03; "Cases are counted at the point when they are filed in district court." Numbers computed by me from the dashboard's own Data Table sheet, the "Unfiltered Table of Dashboard Data", downloaded 2026-09-19 as CSV from https://public.tableau.com/views/MNJudicialBranchDistrictCourtFilings_16083299472850/DataTable.csv?:showVizHome=no&:embed=y — 22,141 rows, columns Category, County, District, Filed Year, Group, Filings. "Conciliation" is a Category within the "Minor Civil" Group; all 87 counties report a conciliation figure in all five years. Two checks that the extract is the whole table and parsed correctly: summing every row gives 4,883,102, which is the figure the dashboard itself displays as "Total Cases Filed, All Groups"; and summing the Major Criminal group by year gives 64,605 / 65,015 / 61,196 / 61,361 / 61,369, which reproduces the dashboard's rendered Filings-by-Year sheet in its default state exactly. Conciliation by year: 37,604 (2021), 35,150 (2022), 40,933 (2023), 59,023 (2024), 61,393 (2025); five-year total 234,103; 2021 to 2025 change +63.3 percent; 2023 to 2024 change +18,090, +44.2 percent, with 77 of 87 counties higher in 2024 than 2023. 2025 county leaders: Hennepin 13,567, Ramsey 6,423, Dakota 4,924, Anoka 4,556, St. Louis 2,676. Adjacent categories, same extract: Minor Civil Judgments 44,477 (2023), 55,506 (2024), 72,149 (2025); Consumer Credit in Major Civil 4,571 (2024), 6,856 (2025), +50.0 percent. 2025 group totals: Minor Civil 163,357, against Major Civil 38,815, Family 33,999 and Probate/Mental Health 17,320 — 90,134 combined.
Population denominators. U.S. Census Bureau, Population Estimates Program, Vintage 2025 county totals file co-est2025-alldata.csv, downloaded 2026-09-19 from https://www2.census.gov/programs-surveys/popest/datasets/2020-2025/counties/totals/, field POPESTIMATE2025 (the July 1, 2025 estimate). Minnesota statewide 5,830,405; 87 counties, each matched to the court data by name. Rates per 1,000 residents, 2025, computed by me: statewide 10.53; Mille Lacs 18.27 (507 filings, 27,753 residents), Norman 16.89, Itasca 15.37, Pipestone 15.23; Houston 4.84 (89 filings, 18,400 residents), Lac qui Parle 5.67, Cook 5.98, Carver 5.98; Hennepin 10.56, Ramsey 11.86. Highest-to-lowest ratio 3.8. Statewide, 5,830,405 divided by 61,393 is one filing per 95.0 residents.
Outcome measures. Minnesota Judicial Branch, "MN Judicial Branch Performance Measures" dashboard, same Tableau Public profile, embedded on mncourts.gov/help-topics/court-statistics/publications-and-reports/district-court-performance-measures; its own text states "The data were last updated on 2.2.26." Clearance-rate definition quoted from the dashboard's own explanatory panel. Clearance-rate data downloaded 2026-09-19 from the dashboard's CRData sheet (columns Case Group, County, District, Year of Calendar Year, Clearance Rate): the Minor Civil group is present for all 87 counties for 2021 through 2025; 2025 median 100 percent, range 91 to 112 percent, 43 counties below 100; 2024 median 96 percent, 67 counties below 100; 2023 median 97 percent, 67 counties below 100. Time-to-disposition data downloaded from the same dashboard's TDData sheet: the only case groups present are Dissolutions, Domestic Abuse, Juvenile Delinquency, Major Civil, Major Criminal and Minor Criminal, and the dashboard's own "What are the Timing Objectives?" panel enumerates the same six and no other. Minor Civil appears in neither the objective list nor the data.
Bulk data. Minnesota Judicial Branch, Bulk Data page, mncourts.gov/help-topics/court-statistics/bulk-data, read from the Internet Archive capture dated 2025-11-19 because the live host returns 403; quoted for the paid-subscription sentence, the enumeration of the seven extracts including Conciliation, the one-time signup and monthly subscription fees, the signed data use agreement, and the media and educational exemption. The linked Fee Schedule PDF is hosted on the same 403 host and is not in the Internet Archive; no subscription price is stated anywhere in this article.
Retrieval conditions, 2026-09-19. https://www.mncourts.gov/, https://mncourts.gov/help-topics/court-statistics/publications-and-reports/district-court-filings, https://mncourts.gov/help-topics/court-statistics/bulk-data and https://www.mncourts.gov/Help-Topics/Court-Fees.aspx each returned HTTP 403 to curl with a browser user agent. Controls in the same session with the same user agent: revisor.mn.gov 200, mncourts.libguides.com 200, public.tableau.com reachable and serving the dashboard, its metadata and its CSV exports. https://data.mn.gov/ did not complete a connection, so nothing in this article rests on what is or is not posted there.
Every conciliation filing count in this article is computed by me from the Minnesota Judicial Branch's own published extract; no disposition, default-judgment, self-representation, fee-waiver or judgment-docketing figure appears anywhere above, because the Judicial Branch does not publish one for conciliation court and I did not estimate one. The clearance-rate figures are for the Minor Civil case group, which contains conciliation along with three other categories, and are reported as such. No current law library fee amount was retrieved from the State Register for any county; the dollar figures in the fee section are the Judicial Branch's own published county totals, read from Internet Archive captures for twelve of eighty-seven counties, and no statewide total filing cost is asserted. No subscription price for the conciliation bulk extract is stated, because the fee schedule was not retrieved. Laws 2024, ch. 123, art. 15, § 6 carries no effective-date clause of its own; the act (H.F. 5216) is titled in part "appropriating money for judiciary, public safety, and corrections", which puts it under the second paragraph of § 645.02 rather than the first, so the default date is the July 1 following final enactment. The article does not state that date and draws no causal conclusion from the 2024 increase in filings. The original enactment date of the $4,000 consumer-credit limit and the $2,500 certified-mail threshold was not traced past the 2010 statutes as reproduced in the 2012 act. Minn. Stat. § 491A.02, subd. 4 requires a commercial property manager to hold a real estate license "under section 82.87" while Rule 512(d) says "under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82"; I did not reconcile the two. This piece runs long because the chapter, the rules and the branch's own data carry more verified detail than the house norm allows for, and nothing sourced was cut to shorten it. This describes law and proposes policy. It is not legal advice, it is not advice about any reader's own situation, it creates no attorney-client relationship, and no client matter appears in it. Corrections: campaign@madgettformn.com.